Friday Feeling – Yarn Bombing

A month or so ago, I didn’t even know what it was, but then I was invited to take part in a project and now I am fully fledged Yarn Bomber! And I thought it was time to share what I have learnt about it…

A Yarn-Bombed Tree in Cleveland City USA

To quote Wikipedia “Yarn bombing, yarnbombing, yarnstorming, guerrilla knitting, urban knitting or graffiti knitting is a type of graffiti or street art that employs colorful displays of knitted or crocheted cloth rather than paint or chalk”.

It’s an eco-friendly, non-permanent, updatable form of street art which can be done by an individual or group… you can cover a tree, a phone box or just hang a knitted ball off a tree… it’s about adding colour and texture to the urban landscape.

Although examples have been around for about 10 years, the modern movement is attributed to Magda Sayeg, then 37, from Houston who covered a door knob at the boutique she worked in. It is now a fixture across the USA. The movement took off in the UK through a team of Urban Knitters called Knit the City. There is even a Yarn Trail here in Bristol (and long may the project last)… And look out for an Olympic Theme Trees later in the year 🙂

I first saw a Yarn-Bombed tree which had been decorated as part of the Nelson Street Art Project, it intrigued me at the time and since researching Yarn Bombing I can see why it’s becoming popular.

I love the idea of Yarn Bombing because it appeals to the rebel and the traditionalist in me. And I hope to see more groups springing up in Bristol – because we are ripe to see this flourish in our city…

How fantastic would a Yarn Bombed James Barton Roundabout be?

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Crafting, Friday Feeling, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

