Jubilee Crafts – Memory Books

One of the biggest memories of my childhood was the Silver Jubilee, I was only 4 years old and I don’t have any photos but I do have lots of images I still recall…

My mum made me a hat for our street party, it was a bonnet, with “Heidi” plaits which she made out of red, white and blue crepe paper. My Brother had a crown.

She also made a couple of rosettes for the window with the Queen and Prince Philip in them. We had a street party where we were all given a coin and a flag and at school we got a mug and another flag.

I was sick on the day She did her walk around but my teachers still let me come along, I was so excited.

I started to think about how I would capture the memories for this Jubilee, one idea is scrapping it but what I want to explore today is Memory Books.

The Idea behind a Memory Book is each person fills in a prompt page to capture their thoughts. I am currently making one for a friend who leaving work after 30 years

Each page asks the person filling it in to answer a couple of questions about Sue and to draw a portrait of her. Once complete, I will bind them all with covers and the Bind-It-All and will share the finished product.

There are a number of questions you could about the Jubilee including:

  • What is your earliest memory of the Queen?
  • What was your favourite Jubilee Event (the flotilla, the Concert, the Walkarounds)
  • Draw a picture of the Queen
  • Design a Logo/Stamp or Coin for the Jubilee
  • what was the weather like?

You want to choose questions which anyone, what ever age can answer. And you want to collect memories that are unique to you.

Thanks for Reading, these Pages are the 124th Creative Project of 2012

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Scrapbooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

