JYC – December 05 – Creating Keepsakes with Cards

This is one of the reasons I wanted I to do Journal Your Christmas to capture details of which Christmas Card I made each year, its one prompt Shimelle says is odd – she is asking Crafters to be Creative about their Creations…

I love making Christmas Cards, it is how I got into papercrafts in the first place. Back in 2002, I was serious ill and I needed something simple and quick to keep my mind active whilst I was physically not able to do much. I started watching QVC and I thought “I can do better than that…” I really did (cheeky I know) not just I can do that but that I could do better.

It took me three months to make 20 cards but I loved and have done ever since, I love the process of choosing a design, refining it and then making them. There is something relaxing about repeating the same design over and over.

I have already shared the BMB Christmas Card for 2015. But here is how I turned into a Layout, another 6×8 layout:

JYC14_0104_DetailAs I wanted to keep the colours muted to match the card colours so I swapped from Project Life’s Merry and Bright to Simple Stories Document December range. That is one of the lovely things about Pocket Scrapping is that there seems at the moment to be a range to suit your style.

JYC14_0104_FinalStash Used:

  • Becky Higgins 6×8 Page Protector Design 3
  • Simple Stories Document December Cards
  • Becky Higgins 3×4 Plain Grid Cards
  • Oyster Plan White Cardstock
  • Lili of the Valley Pattern Paper
  • Generic Tags
  • American Craft Ribbons
  • Ribbon and Pearls – a special offer from HobbyCraft at the NEC
  • Glimmer Mists
  • Promarkers
  • Chalk Ink by Colorbox
  • Super Sticky Tape
  • Die Cuts and Embossing Folder by Quickutz

Just to remind you if you have self-paced classes or e-books stored in Big Picture Classes you have until the end of the week to download any content you keep, all classes will be moving to the archive site until the end of July – see the latest details here.

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Christmas 2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

