Here’s One I’m Making – {Powertex} Pencil Pot Part 4

I haven’t updated you on how the Steampunk Pencil Pot for work is going in a while, when I left you I had just added the swirls of t-shirts yarn. As it is one of my UFO Projects for May 2015 – I thought I better get going with it.

My next step was to add some MDF cogs and wheels as well as polystyrene balls and whilst it was drying it looked like this:

PT_PP01_0402The idea of adding the balls and the cogs was to add texture. there is no glue involved as Powertex is a very powerful adhesive and everything sticks to everything else. The swirls were not completely dry when I stuck the cogs to the pot – this allows me to be able to push them in.

PT_PP01_0401Now I know Black on Black on Black does not a good picture make but I hope this shows some of the close up detail. This is the first time I have used polystyrene and I found that it needed a couple of coats. Has anyone got any suggestions for using Polystyrene for outdoor Powertex Projects?

This is now drying happily away and I am waiting to add the pigment.

PT_PP01_0403It’s finally starting to take shape and look a little more like the steampunk picture in my mind.

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Powertex and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here’s One I’m Making – {Powertex} Pencil Pot Part 4

  1. I love the split before-and-after image, and the way it looks like old iron. Very cool!

  2. teresa.marsh700@mod.uk says:

    My birthday is in Feb – a purple version would be fantastic … cheeky. I love it

Leave a Reply

