{Powertex} – Rose Bowl Pt 2

I have finally decided what I am going to do with this – I was going to use it as a base for a plant pot but I have decided to turn it into to a piece of sculpture as a nest with bright birds in it for the Spring.

Birds_Nest_03_04I have still be using the plastic bowl as a mold, it works very well for this shape. I completed the final layer in two stages so that I could hold them in shape with cling film. One tip though – ease it off the mold after about an hour and turn the other way – otherwise the insides get very flat inside…

Birds_Nest_03_02… yes half of it is very flat inside! You can see here which side I completed first. One of the wonderful things about Crafting is that we never make mistakes – just have happy accidents we can learn from!

Birds_Nest_03_01I have used length of t-shirt yarns which are about 10 inches in length, so just shorter than a foot ruler, this is slightly longer than I used for the pencil pot. That gives me a coil which is about an inch in diameter in width when dried.

I know how I want the birds to look, I just need to work out how to make them…

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Here's one I Made..., Powertex and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

