Here’s One I Made – Spooky Birthdays

It’s the last Saturday of October and in the BMB household, that can only mean one thing – It’s Christmas Cake Day but as it’s not going to be ready for at least another 1hr and 16 minutes, you will have to do with this photo…

Christmas_Cake_01In the mean time, I have spent the rest of the afternoon making a Spooky Birthday Card which I have based on what will be the BMB Christmas Card Design.

Sophie_Card_07I have used a number of sites for inspiration this week:

For this card, I used a masking technique, which involved stamping first on the base card and then on my masking paper. I always do this without re-inking the stamp, because I find it easier to see the difference between the two images.

Sophie_Card_06I then cut the image on the masking paper along the horizon line, keeping the pumpkins whole and placed the cut image on top of the base image. This allows me to colour the image and keeping some of it white.

Sophie_Card_05In this case – I wanted to do a sunset just peeking behind the horizon. Using chalk inks and the Tim Holtz mini blender – I added yellow, orange and then violet.

Sophie_Card_04Once I added the colour and “set” with a quick blast with a heat gun, I peeled off the masking paper and coloured in the leaves, pumpkins and added a hint of green in the grass

Sophie_Card_03After this I added a die cut window frame (covered with acetate to make it look like a window. This is the design I want to use with Majestix stamps for Christmas.

Sophie_Card_01I think I have shared before that I go through phases with stamps, at the moment I am in a “Stampin Up” Phase, which I buy from Kerry Timms, a local Stampin Up Consultant. I do like that I can now by on-line. If you haven’t already had a look, check out the Autumn-Winter mini catalogue.

Sophie_Card_02Stash Used:

  • Card Creations – Card Blank
  • Crafters Companions – Centura Pearl Gingham Cardstock
  • Core’dinations – Kraft Core Purple Cardstock
  • Stampin Up – Happy Scenes Stamps (from Autumn 2015 Catalogue)
  • Stampin Up – Hearth and Home Framelits (from Autumn 2015 Catalogue)
  • Gossamer Blue – Gold Stickers
  • Copic – Alcohol Ink Markers
  • Memento – Tuxedo Black Ink Pad
  • 3D Pads

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made... and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here’s One I Made – Spooky Birthdays

  1. jenn shurkus says:

    awesome halloween scene! love the masking 🙂 thank you for playing along with us at simon says stamp wednesday challenge!

  2. Niki says:

    I really love it! Love the way you have built up the background and love the window die and the gold stickers – lush! Thanks for joining us this week at Sketch Saturday, Niki xx

  3. A super pretty card using Debra’s great sketch! Great tutorial too! I haven’t been able to play along with our sketches for a few weeks now but I’m delighted you joined in with my teamies at Sketch Saturday this week with this lovely card. Hugs, Lesley

Leave a Reply

