Stash, Stock and Supplies – A Trip to the NEC 2015

It’s November… I am overdue Retail Therapy after my trip to the States… so there is only one thing for it – I was off to “The NEC” (with a capital “T” obviously!)

Earlier this week, one of my newer colleagues asked me what I had planned for this weekend and he looked so confused on hearing what I was doing. He could not get his head around the idea of one huge craft fair and looked even more confused when a day later he found out that “The NEC” was actually a “thing” when another colleague was getting excited about making the pilgrimage to Birmingham herself.

I am pleased to report back that this years trip is a success, I went with a couple of friends (although one was sadly missing…) and I enjoyed a wide range of demonstrations, came back with lots of ideas and lots of stash… so without further ado:

NEC_07Top of my list was the Banksy stamps I didn’t get last year, Some Card-IO stamps for this year’s Christmas Cards and lots of Liquid Pearls. I also picked up some more stencils which always come in handy and a couple of the X-Cut Build-a-Scene dies.

NEC_05I found a lot of great deals on both Stickles and Liquid Pearls, so I stocked up. You can see from the colours here, my cards this Christmas and they are neutral.

NEC_06And there was so many great sets of stamps, I can see a lot of Banksy cards for birthdays and Visible Image had some great Zombie Stamps – which may also appear on birthday cards.

NEC_04I also treated myself to some new ink pads (as you can’t have too many), some more GlitzCraft pastes (a West Country Company which makes stenciling so much fun) and some Majestix Stamps, so did both of my friends. The Majestix Stamp Stand was heaving every time I walked past.

NEC_03Last year at The NEC, I discovered Powertex and this year, it was great to see Tracey and Garry Evans there bigger and better with Brigitte Grade, the founder of the company as their special guest. So it would have been rude not to indulge in some retail therapy with them.

NEC_02Having seen Brigitte create a wonderful canvas with Powertex products, I have come back enthused about the 2D was well as the 3D opportunities with Powertex. And that has needed a wider selection of MDF shapes, which needed a trip to the MDF Man.

NEC_01And I saw some great demonstrations, I could watch Barbara Gray all day – I love her style of stamping and the Card-Io Team’s cards demonstrations were amazing too.

I have come back inspired and raring to create, which is why I love events like The NEC – it’s the ideas which are priceless.

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Stash-Stock-Supplies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stash, Stock and Supplies – A Trip to the NEC 2015

  1. kyla says:

    It was a great day. Thanks for letting me join you, a great day out.
    Kyla

Leave a Reply

