Tuesday Tags – Always

As part of my Tuesday Tags series, I wanted to pay homage to the late, great, Alan Rickman this week. As with all the tags I will be making this year, this tag has two elements:

  1. My New Technique – Stamping Letterpress
  2. Stash Used – Die Cuts with a View Burlap Paper

TT_0118_01One of my favourite of all the scenes Alan Rickman was famous for, my personal favourite is the redemption of Snape – when he shares that he has always loved Lily Potter and that is what has been motivating him.

TT_0118_02This scene was perfect to try a letterpress technique where you stamp onto the embossing folder and transfer the image as part of the embossing process.

TT_0118_03This process works because when you stamp onto the folder the ink doesn’t reach the debossed areas.

When the folder is run through a die cutter, such as my big shot, the ink is transferred to the card and embossing happens as designed. The ink design therefore looks like it is behind the embossed area. This means the final design is more detailed than other letterpress ideas.

For this design, I added a stamped Deer and using an Ink Blending Tool from Tim Holtz I added soft green for the grass.

I LOVE THIS TECHNIQUE – I will be using it again (and again and again)

TT_0118_04I wanted to keep the rest of design simple, so I added a piece of Burlap Paper to keep the natura look, some brown wood effect and cork stickers.

TT_20_FinishStash Used

  • Q-Connect – Manilla Tags
  • Card-IO – Deer Stamp
  • Sizzix – In the Woods Embossing Folder
  • Die Cuts with a View – Burlap Paper
  • Pink Paislee – Cork Stickers
  • Studio Calico – Brown Wood Effect Stickers
  • Versa Magic – Chalk Inks

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

