Tuesday Tags – A Whitewash

In my post at the weekend I started to talk about Gesso and how useful it can be as a crafting medium. Big Picture Classes have a class on making the most out of Gesso and I am using my Tuesday Tags to share what I have learnt over the next couple of weeks.

As with all the tags I will be making this year, this tag has two elements:

  1. My New Technique – Whitewashing with Gesso
  2. Stash Used – Paper, Dies and Toppers from Sara Davies’ Floral Signature Collection made by Crafter’s Companion.

TT_01_26

The first lesson was to use Gesso to “tone down” or whitewash pattern paper. I am using a sheet from Sara Davies’s Floral Signature collection from Crafter’s Companion.

TT_01_26_03

So why would you want to whitewash pattern paper? I bought this paper as part of a set from Create and Craft because I wanted the dies and embossing folders. I would find it hard to use this sheet as a background with all its details but by toning it down I find it easier to use.

TT_01_26_02

Having said in its “natural form” I would struggle to use this paper as background, there is one thing I like about busy paper with patterns. That is that all it takes is a pair of scissors and you that you can use it for do-it-yourself decoupage.

TT_01_26_05

I love this fussy cutting technique, you can build toppers and details for scrapbook pages very quickly. I love this photo as you can see the difference the thin coat of gesso makes between the topper and the background.

TT_01_26_06I can remember one evening at the late lamented Paperarts, I spent a while cutting out flowers much to the amusement of another of the croppers… who not long after, started to teach a class on fussy cutting after she saw what I could do.

TT_01_26_07

To keep everything in the tag coordinated, I added some swirls using the die cuts from the same collection as well as a couple of the toppers. I cut the swirls out of vellum to keep the whole effect subtle.

TT_01_26_08

So now I know, that even if a sheet of pattern paper which comes in a kit is “too busy” for me to use normally, with this technique, I can find more uses for it!

TT_01_26_09

Stash Used

  • Q-Connect – Manilla Tags
  • Crafters Companion – Floral Collection Pattern Paper
  • Crafters Companion – Floral Collection Die Cuts
  • Crafters Companion – Floral Collection Toppers
  • Bazzill Paper – Green Vellum
  • Ranger Ink – White Gesso
  • 3D Foam

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

