Tuesday Tags – Define Normal

I am carrying on my series of Tuesday Tags about Gesso and what I am learning over at Big Picture Classes.

As with all the tags I will be making this year, this tag has two elements:

  1. My New Technique – Adding Ink to White Gesso
  2. Stash Used – Crazy Birds Stamps and Die Cuts

{Warning this post has a lot of photos}

TT_02_02_02Lesson Two from my Big Picture Class, is about adding an ink to Gesso, so I am going to do this over two parts. This week with adding White Gesso to Manilla and next week with Clear Gesso.

TT_02_02_01Using a dead credit card you can cover a tag in a couple of seconds with Gesso and as you can see, its only a very thin coat.

TT_02_02_03The key to adding ink to gesso, is to make sure it is completely dry, I like to leave it over night. If it’s not completely dry, the ink with start to soak in.

TT_02_02_04You can use any water based or acrylic inks, I am use spray dies here, but you can watercolour paints or pencils or paints, crayons, ink pads, stains etc etc. But remember if you want to use oil based substances you will need to use an oil based gesso.

TT_02_02_05To show you the difference, I sprayed both a treated and untreated tag, I have used the untreated in next week’s design!

TT_02_02_06Because of the protection that Gesso provides, you can be generous when adding additional layers of ink, this tag has had about three layers added by this stage.

… and whilst it was drying I moved to stamping my images and colouring them…

TT_02_02_07When Tim first launched his Crazy Birds last year, I fell in love with them but avoided them as I knew we would see them everywhere. However it was only when I started to see them appearing on Pinterest that I realised how versatile they are.

TT_02_02_08And one of the reasons they are so versatile is the Sizzix dies which co-ordinate. I can remember when Sizzix first came to the UK, I said to the company it would be great to have coordinating dies and embossing folders, that was about 13 years ago and I love that today we can do that so easily.

TT_02_02_09The secret to art journalling is knowing when to add layers, so here I have added a bit of Washi Tape and glossy accents to the eyes of the bird. I have also stamped “define normal” from the Crazy Talk stamps to the background.

TT_02_02_10To add a little extra depth, I teased the image a little which causes it to curve, and then stuck it in place with silicon glue, which gives you a little more control than 3D foam.

TT_02_02_11This is one of the other advantages of Gesso, Silicon Glue can be a bit greasy, the Gesso protects against this.

TT_02_02_12This photo shows you just how good the Sizzix Thinlets are at cutting the birds out, the beak was from the second image and is stuck on the first one… and just look at those legs!

TT_02_02_13I finished this off with adding the second set of eyes ala Cheshire Cat, it looks right!

TT_02_02_14(Sorry I told you it was image heavy!)

Stash Used

  • Q-Connect – Manilla Tags
  • Tim Holtz for Stampers Anonymous – Crazy Birds Stamps
  • Tim Holtz for Stampers Anonymous – Crazy Talk Stamps
  • Tim Holtz for Sizzix – Crazy Birds Thinlets
  • Rangers – Adirondack Color Wash in Denim and Wild Plum
  • Rangers – Archival Inkpad in Black
  • Rangers – Glossy Accents
  • Chameleon – Alcohol Ink Pens
  • Stix2 – Silicon Glue
  • WR Memory Keepers – Watercolour Washi Tape

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Mixed Media, Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

