Tuesday Tags – Glitz and Shimmer

I am carrying on my series of Tuesday Tags about Gesso and what I am learning over at Big Picture Classes.

As with all the tags I will be making this year, this tag has two elements:

  1. My New Technique – Adding Ink to pattern paper with Clear Gesso
  2. Stash Used – GlitzCraft paste, stencils and chipboard stars from Shimelle’s Christmas 2015 kit.

So after last weeks class where I added ink to white gesso, I tried the same technique to add to colour (lots of colour) to clear gesso.

TT_02_09_01I wanted to see a contrast between the Kraft cardstock and a pattern paper which would show the colour. so I selected a range of monochrome pattern papers from my stash…

TT_02_09_02This is almost a serendipity style of adding pattern paper, by tearing small, irregular pieces of pattern paper and layering it up.

TT_02_09_03When you are adding clear gesso, it goes on opaque and dries clear with a matt effect, which means you can see the detail of what you are covering.

TT_02_09_04Like with any gesso, you need to make sure that it is completely dry before adding ink, I left this for a couple of days before adding ink, I stuck with purple but didn’t take any shots. However I wanted to add even more so I added some white glitz paste.

TT_02_09_01This is going to be a real test of how much the tag could take before soaking and warping… the gesso does it job and provides a barrier.

TT_02_09_02You can really see with this shop how the spritz inks just sits on the top of the tag and the pattern paper. The other tag was the one I spritzed un-gesso’ed last week.

To balance up the GlitzCraft paste. I added some stars and a doily

TT_02_09_03 And remembering the art of mixed media is adding layers…  I spritzed with silver.

TT_02_09_06So at this stage, I have three layers of ink and a water based paste, so I wanted to see how flat it laid.

TT_02_09_05It looks even more impressive from the back, there is no seepage and apart from my inky fingerprint, its clean.

TT_02_09_07I have used this class twice now, I like both techniques, with white and with clear as the end products are very different. I will be doing this again.

TT_02_09_07Stash Used

  • Q-Connect – Manilla Tags
  • Crate Paper – Stripe and Doodle Pattern Paper
  • Unknown – Dotted Paper from old album kit
  • Rangers – Clear Gesso
  • Rangers – Adirondack Color Wash in Denim and Wild Plum
  • GlitzCraft – White Frosting Paste
  • GlitzCraft – Tree Stencil
  • DoCrafts – Mini Doily
  • Studio Calico – Chipboard Stars (from Shimelle’s 2015 Christmas Kit)
  • Cosmic Shimmer – Clear Shimmer

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Mixed Media, Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

