Tuesday Tags – Be an Original Crazy Cat

This is the Penultimate of my Tuesday Tags about Gesso based on the “5 Things to do with Gesso” that I am following over at Big Picture Classes. As with all the tags I will be making this year, this tag has two elements:

  1. My New Technique – Adding texture with stenciling White Gesso
  2. Stash Used – Crazy Cats Stamps and Die Cuts *Ok – so I have only had these a day or two and I am going to be using them so much

As with all the tags in this series to date I started with a thin even layer of white Gesso.

TT_02_02_02But this time I added an additional layer through a stencil to add texture before leaving to dry over night.

TT_02_15_01 I loved the final effect, its a little messier than using stencil paste but the over all impact is slighly subtler than with other thicker mediums and it slightly translucent.

TT_02_15_02{The bubbles are because I dried this with a heat gun, Gesso will bubble up when heated. You can either pop them or keep them, I did a bit of both!

TT_02_15_03I coloured the tag with distress inks, taking time to build the colour up over several layers and ensuring the colour was slightly more concentrated at the bottom.

TT_02_15_04Now for the stamps, I was so excited when Tim annouced he was releasing Crazy Cats to go with his Crazy Birds… As a Crazy Cat Family… I knew I would get a lot of use out of Crazy Cats…

TT_02_15_05*** Crazy Cats Yeah ***

TT_02_15_06As with Tim’s Crazy Birds and Crazy Things, these stamps come with matching framelet dies from Sizzix, to make the most of this, I stamped a couple of images and coloured them with slighly different tones

TT_02_15_07You can see from this shot just how good the framelets are, the eyes and tail are from one cat – the body including the whiskers from another.

TT_02_15_08I added a phrase from Crazy Talk and then stretched the fibres in the cat die cut before fixing it with silicon glue.

TT_02_15_09Stash Used

    • Q-Connect – Manilla Tags
    • Tim Holtz for Stampers Anonymous – Crazy Cats Stamps
    • Tim Holtz for Stampers Anonymous – Crazy Talk Stamps
    • Tim Holtz for Sizzix – Crazy Cats Framelets
    • Stamposaurus – Paw Print Stencil
    • Rangers – Distress Ink in Walnut Stain and Antique Linen
    • Tsukineko – Memento Inkpad in Brown and Black
    • Rangers – Glossy Accents
    • Powetex – Warm Brown Bister
    • Stix2 – Silicon Glue
    • Early Learning Centre – Gold Cardstock

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Mixed Media, Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

