Tuesday Tags – Dolls and Gilding

This is the final  of my Tuesday Tags about Gesso based on the “5 Things to do with Gesso” that I am following over at Big Picture Classes. As with all the tags I will be making this year, this tag has two elements:

  1. My New Technique – “Drawing” Texture into Gesso
  2. Stash Used – Prima Marketing “Julie Nutting Dolls” and gilding wax

This week is slightly different, because as like last week, I am not stopping at just a first thin layer of Gesso.

TT_02_23_01After the first layer was dry I added a second thicker layer, still keeping it smooth at first by applying with a credit card.

TT_02_23_02Whilst it was still wet, I drew a pattern into the Gesso by scratching it away with the end of a bamboo skewer.

TT_02_23_03Because it was so think, I left it overnight to dry. Although I choose to do a wooden effect, you could do an abstract or geometrical pattern. This is very quick and if I was in a rush, I could have dried it with a heat gun.

TT_02_23_04I could have coloured it with inks or paints but I wanted to add a metallic sheen to the tag, so I reached for my gilding waxes.

TT_02_23_05I use creative expressions gilding waxes, although small (about 1oml in a pot) they pack a punch and blend extremely well.

TT_02_23_06I can cover and buff a surface in about 2 minutes, a quick rub with a clothe or tissue brings up the shine. It also too some of the wax from the raised areas giving it a shabby feel.

TT_02_23_07I wanted to keep a feminine-feel to the tag, so I pulled out one of my Julie Nutting Dolls. Now if you were a Bunty fan as a child, then you will love these dolls. By using my favourite paper piecing technique, you can dress the doll just as want.

TT_02_23_08The book paper is also covered with clear Gesso to give it strength. I coloured it with watercolour pencils, which I couldn’t do without the gesso. I then cut round her shoes, the headscarf, dress and apron, fixing them to the base with glue runner.

TT_02_23_09I ran the doll through a xyron to fix to the tag and added glossy accents to the apron, headband and shoes.

TT_02_23_10Once it had dried, I added a handful Prima flowers which I have had for years, still on the original small milk bottle packaging from about 10 years ago.

TT_02_23_11I love this background effect, I think its my favourite one yet. I want to experiment with other styles of backgrounds.

TT_02_23_12Stash Used

    • Q-Connect – Manilla Tags
    • Ranger – White and Clear Gesso
    • Prima Marketing – Julie Nutting Doll Stamps
    • Prima Marketing – Paper Flowers
    • Prima Marketing – Watercolour Pencils
    • First Edition – Daydream Pattern Paper
    • Tsukineko – Memento Inkpad in Brown
    • Rangers – Glossy Accents

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Mixed Media, Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday Tags – Dolls and Gilding

  1. Kyla says:

    Looks great. Love gesso as it’s so versatile

    Like

Leave a Reply

