Here’s One I’m Making – Mother’s Day 2016

In the UK, its Mothering Sunday and I have my annual challenge to come up with something creative and different for my Mother-in-Law two weeks after her birthday! So I am tying into two challenges

I wanted to play with shaped cards, I love hexagons, so this was a good shape to start with.. And once I had cut my card, I found my theme… honeycombs.

MDay_16_13The fold is on the left hand side, so when I ran it through the Big Shot there was still a join in the card, however I made a mistake and put my purple holding tape on the inside of the card and not on the edge…

MDay_16_12The problem with this, is that although purple tape is light tack, because I had run it through the Big Shot twice (as I had two sheets of card), the purple tape was well and truly stuck to the card and marked the card when I removed die… good job I was cutting most of it away and covering the rest.

MDay_16_10Using the same sized dies I cut a frame out of yellow Mirri-Card and I then cut a lattice out of gold Mirri-Card.

MDay_16_09I then (for what felt like the rest of the morning) poked out small hexagons from a A5 sheet. Hey Kyla – guess what my next Shaker Card is going to contain???

MDay_16_07Anyway I digress, Once I had cut all the shapes, poked out all the holes and picked up all the stray hexagons from the floor I could make the card…

MDay_16_06I wasn’t going to put anything behind the lattice-work but decided on an extra layer of vellum because I wanted to keep it simple and I think seeing the writing on the other side would have spoilt it.

MDay_16_05I coloured a Crazy Bird, which I Mother-in_Law likes, in a soft yellow, golden-yellow and orange. I decided to just enhance the eyes with glossy accents and not cut a second set out.

MDay_16_04I finished the card with a couple of prima flowers and a Mother’s Day sentiment, and some more gold card.

MDay_16_03There is a lot of texture in this card, with flowers, glossy accents, vellum and mirri-card, from the side you can see that it is still very delicate.

MDay_16_02I usually use a lot of 3D foam or Silicon Glue in my cards to add texture by adding height, but this card has been about adding depth by adding lots of layers.

MDay_16_01Stash Used

  • UKCraft – Card Blank
  • Hunkydory – Yellow and Gold Mirri-Card
  • Hunkydory – Cream Adorable Scorable
  • Tattered Lace – Hexagon and Lattice Dies
  • Tattered Lace – Vellum Paper
  • Tim Holtz for Stampers Anonymous – Crazy Birds
  • Tim Holtz for Sizzix – Crazy Birds Framelets
  • Chameleon Pens – Alcohol Ink Pens
  • Prima – Paper Flowers
  • Prima – Mother’s Day Stamp
  • Ranger – Glossy Accents
  • Memento – Ink Pad

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Big Picture Classes, Cards and Tags, Challenges, Here's one I Made... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here’s One I’m Making – Mother’s Day 2016

  1. Andrea says:

    Great card, love the shape and all the detail
    Thank you for joining in this weeks CCT challenge

    Like

  2. Kyla says:

    Great card and yes they will be perfect in a shaker . Love the small honeycomb didn’t realise tattered lace made one.

    Like

  3. teresa kline says:

    awesome design and details…very nice! so glad you played along with us at simon says stamp wednesday challenge!

    sparkle & shine, kindness *~*

    Like

  4. Julie says:

    This is lovely, and what teeny tiny hexi fun you had!

    Like

Leave a Reply

