Tuesday Tags – Crayons and Colouring

As well as making cards, to easy myself back into crafting, I have started playing with Tags and Techniques. This time I am playing with

  1. My New Technique – A background made with Tim Holtz Distress Crayons (I got these for my birthday, which was a couple of days before I broke my leg).
  2. Stash Used – GlitzCraft paste, stencils and some of 100s Prima flowers I still have in the stash.

TT_04_12_02After using a generous coat of Gesso, I added blocks of Distress Crayon. This is a more stable medium than many of the Distress range, so you have work quickly to move the colour around.

TT_04_12_09

But once dry it is fully stable so you can add further wet mediums. This is an addition to the Distress Range as you can’t do this with either the Markers or Inks. But they are still fully colour coordinated.

TT_04_12_10Once the background was dried, I covered the tag with a stencil and blocked the areas I didn’t want to cover.

TT_04_12_07If you have not used GlitzCraft pastes, they are thick, stable and can be easily mixed and layered to add dimension to the design, I am using Green, Blue and White in this design to complement the background.

TT_04_12_06I used a mixture of Green and Blue in the leaves and Blue and White in the Butterflies. It goes on easily and dries quickly.

TT_04_12_04Once dried I took off the stencil and tidied up the edges of the design. This was caused by the fact I hadn’t kept the design flat so I got a little seepage around the edge of the stencils. This is easily done with a finger nail or pokey tool

TT_04_12_03To finish the design, I added a couple of Prima flowers to add a 3D effect. I love the way the colours have complemented each other in this design. I edged the tag to add a little more “pop” to the design

TT_04_12_01

Stash Used

  • Q-Connect – Manilla Tags
  • Ranger – White Gesso
  • Ranger – Tim Holtz Distress Crayons
  • Ranger – Glossy Accents
  • GlitzCraft – White, Green and Blue Glitter Paste
  • GlitzCraft – Small Butterfly Stencil
  • Prima – Flowers

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Mixed Media, Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

