Friday Feeling – Iconic Craft Items

Every once in a while, we see an iconic craft item or idea come on to the market. This can be something that completely revolutionise the way we look at doing something, for example Project Life for Scrapbooking or Sizzix in 2002 when they developed the first home die cutting system.

PL_150724_02

But mainly it is something so distinct that it just captures everyone’s imagination. I think Tim Holtz with his Crazy Birds and Crazy Cats are a great example of this, such a simple stamp which is so versatile.

TT_02_02_14

And this has got me thinking as to what makes an iconic “must have” item, I think it’s a couple of reasons:

  1. They need to capture the imagination of the crafting population
  2. They need to be easy to use and easy to adapt
  3. They need to be versatile (they can be used in a range of techniques and for a range of celebrations and holidays). Have you seen two Crazy Birthday projects the same?

Last year Stampin Up brought out an Owl Punch, which I haven’t treated myself to yet but matches these criteria. You see this Owl celebrating Birthday, Christmas, Graduation and get well soon all over pinterest. But it has been adapted to create penguins, minions, bats and ghosts to name a few.

This year I think they are going to do the same but with Foxes. Already, I am seeing this fox appearing as different animals in different colours and in different settings. As the catalogue has only been around for a couple of weeks – that is pretty amazing. It makes a brilliant cat (!) or a girl in bunches…

Foxy_Friends_03This year as well as the punch, Stampin Up have brought out the matching 2-step photopolymer stamps, double-sided pattern paper and a “foxy” colour combination.

Even better it only uses three colours, Calypso Coral, Smoky Slate and Pool Party, so its easy to replicate the projects you will find on-line or invent your own

Foxy_Friends_01Now I am a little biased when it comes to foxes. Those of you who don’t follow me on other forms of social media, may not know that I was born and brought up in Leicester and have been celebrating the success of the “The Foxes” since May. But even with that aside, when you look at the level of details in the stamps, this is a very usable set.

Foxy_Friends_02I already have a wide range of projects lined up for these foxes, included a 3D Card I have already started on!

If you have been inspired or want to see more from the 2016 Stampin Up Catalogue and you don’t have a local demonstrator, I can recommend the lovely Kerry Timms who is based here in the West Country.

Thanks for Reading

BMB

All the items featured in this article have been paid for directly at full cost by me. I have no connection to Stampin Up

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Friday Feeling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Feeling – Iconic Craft Items

  1. Kyla says:

    I agree about the owl. I borrowed one for a week from friend and made ghosts, reindeers, bats, pigs, penguins etc.
    Kyla

Leave a Reply

