Tuesday Tags – Gilding the Stamps

When I was downloading my recent photos I found some tags I made before my accident, so I thought I better get around to sharing them. As with all the tags I am making this year, this tag has two elements:

  1. My New Technique ā€“ Using Gilding Glue and flakes from Honey Doo Crafts.
  2. Stash Used ā€“ Black Gesso from Dina Wakley

TT_0705_01Black Gesso works best for bases where you want to the colours you are adding to “pop” from the background. I wanted the gilding to stand on the tag so it was the natural choice.

TT_0705_02Honey Doo have developed a Glitter Glue which doesn’t harm either photopolymer or rubber stamps if washed off quickly and it also stays wet until it is “fixed” with another medium such as glitter or flakes or fluff.

What makes this Glitter Glue so good is the amount of detail from the stamp which is retained. I used a piece of Ranger Wet-Dry foam to apply it to the stamp, you need to make sure there is thin layer of the white glue over all of the stamp.

TT_0705_05Once I had cleaned the glue of the stamp, I added a pinch of flakes and patted them on gently (without rubbing), you don’t need to worry, they stick very quickly.

TT_0705_07Gentle is the name of the game for this technique, because next, I had to gently rub off the excess with a small square of sponge. I made sure all the loose bits fell back into the box so that I could re-use as much as possible.

TT_0705_08Once you have polished the tag – the detail will start to pop out of the background. You can see if you have missed any bits. These can be filled in by dapping a small amount of glue and re-gilding.

TT_0705_04I sealed the tag with the a clear varnish to add to the shine and then added some perfect pearls to finish the tag off.

TT_0705_10I love this technique, its quick, clean and the results are amazing. The gilding flakes come in a single colour variation or mixed such as the one I am using.

TT_0705_06I can’t wait to use this on other cards, I think it works well on black but I am looking forward to playing with mirricard to see what effects I can get when I add gilding flakes.

TT_0705_03Stash Used

  • Ranger – Dina Wakley Black Gesso
  • Ranger – Cut’n’ Dry Foam
  • Ranger – Perfect Pearls
  • Honey Doo Crafts – Glitter Glue
  • Honey Doo Crafts – Rolling Hills Gilding Flakes
  • Crafters Companions – Sara Davis Signature Stamps
  • Powertex – Clear Varnish

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Mixed Media, Tuesday Tags and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday Tags – Gilding the Stamps

  1. Kyla says:

    Gotta love gilding flakes…..just don’t sneeze or play near an open window!

    Like

Leave a Reply

