Here’s One I Made – Mini Canvas – Another Brick in the Wall

This is a another project I started before I was indisposed but never got to share. I love working with Canvases and a close friend gave me some tiny 3 inch square ones to play with Powertex. But before I did that, I thought I would try traditional Mixed Media techniques to ease myself back into making canvases.

MM_MC_0630_01After covering the pattern paper and canvas with white and black Gesso respectively, I then started on two layers of stencil work. One of the key to mixed media, as with Art Journalling, is not to shy away from layering up techniques.

MM_MC_0630_09I started with a Stamposaurus Brickwork stencil and dabbed through green paint from Heidi Swapp (which is 9 years old and still going strong). A good acrylic paint, if well looked after will never dry out.

MM_MC_0630_08I wanted to keep an urban feel so I didn’t sponge the paint over all of the surface and let it fade away naturally in one corner. Once it was dried I add a second stencil.

MM_MC_0630_07I only wanted to pick out the details of plant so I used masking tape to cover the parts of the stencil I was not interested in. I then added a mixture of Emerald Green and Gold Glitzcraft paste. This dries on many surfaces not just cardstock.

MM_MC_0630_06I could see, as you can in this photo that I had splodged slightly under the stencil (it wasn’t completely flat as I was working on angle. Glitzcraft pastes are very forgiving if you move quickly and you can tidy up minor errors with your finger nails.

MM_MC_0630_05Once it was dried (it takes about 30 minutes) I added some pattern paper down the side that was opposite to flower. This was some pink pattern paper I muted down with white gesso earlier.

MM_MC_0630_03At this stage, I knew I needed something to bring the plant alive so I added some Perfect Pearls, to add further dimension to the flowers. This is what I meant about adding layers – don’t be afraid to add more if the canvas needs it

MM_MC_0630_02To finish it off, I cut some flowers from another sheet of matching pattern paper and used it as the basis of decoupage. I then added a couple of Prima flowers with more perfect pearls in the centre of the flowers.

MM_MC_0701_01All in all as a project it took me about 2hrs making time and with about 5hrs drying time in total. But these mini canvases are something that you can pick at and add to over a couple of days.

MM_MC_0701_02

Stash Used

  • Art:Nr – 3 Inch Canvas
  • Ranger – Black and White Gesso
  • Heidi Swapp – Green Acrylic Paint
  • Stamposaurus – Brick Wall Stencil
  • GlitzCraft – Plant Stencil, Emerald Green and Gold GlitzCraft Paste
  • Crafters Companion – Pattern Paper
  • Ranger – Perfect Pearls
  • Prima – Paper Flowers
  • Ranger – Glossy Accents

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Canvas, Mixed Media and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

