Here’s One I’m Making – Come on Chameleons

Isn’t it odd how you seem to need to make cards in small bursts? I am currently making about 4 or 5 cards for different birthdays or events. So its great to turn to some of my favourite Challenge Blogs for inspiration:

I have recently discovered the Clearly Besotted Stamp Company through pinterest, especially a set of stamps called “Colour Chameleon” which I couldn’t want to try out. As I was going to use colour as a focus, I decided to go my brusho powders to add some extra pow.

KM16_BD_01There are a number of ways you can use Brushos’ I like to shake them onto wet cardstock to get a “firework burst” effect.

KM16_BD_02You want to make sure the cardstock is damp but not dripping and be prepared to weigh it down whilst it is drying as it curl around the edges.

KM16_BD_03To maximise the effect, don’t mix the colours too much, keep the areas separate, they will flow into each other a little bit but you want to keep them apart if possible.

Once it had dried, I cut the background out but I also stamped the chameleons on to the using a permanent ink so the chameleons would blend in.

KM16_BD_04As I wanted the eyes to stand out and as I realised it would be clearer to colour on white cardstock I also stamped the chameleon out twice more in white to be able to layer up the details on the stamps.

KM16_BD_05I cut the stamps out firstly using the matching dies and then I fussy cut both the chameleons and their eyes. The eyes are finished off with glossy accents.

KM16_BD_06As these stamps are very small, I decided to make the most of the rest of cards by using Tim Holtz word die, cut out in gold and accented with black.

KM16_BD_07It’s a long time since I have fallen in love with a set of stamps as much as I have with these ones, I can’t want to use them with different colour inks and with pattern papers, the design is effective yet simple and it lends itself to fussy cutting. This makes them very versatile, so expect to see them again.

KM16_BD_08Stash Used

  • Craft UK – Blank Cards
  • Oyster Card – White Cardstock
  • Hunkydory – Gold Cardstock
  • Stampin Up – Black Cardstock
  • Clearly Besotted – Colour Chameleon Stamp and Dies
  • Tim Holtz for Sizzix – “Celebration Manuscript” and “Holiday Words 2” Dies
  • Copic – Alcohol Markers
  • Zig Markers – Wink of Stella in Brown
  • Ranger – Glossy Accents
  • Pinflair – Silicon Glue

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here’s One I’m Making – Come on Chameleons

  1. Ellie says:

    The brusho’s background looks amazing and also worked so well on the chameleons. Fantastic card!
    Thanks so much for sharing with us at Penny Black and More!

  2. Brenda says:

    Great use of your dies and lovely creation, thanks for much for sharing your creativity with us at Allsorts challenge this week.

    B x

  3. Fabulous!!! Love it 😀 Stephanie x

  4. Lynn Brown says:

    How lovely you discovered CB – you have a lot of catching up to do as they have so many fab stamps. This is a great use of the stamps and your TH dies Thanks so much for sharing with us at Penny Black & More.
    Lynn x
    DT
    http://www.craftylinby.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

