Sunday Book Club – Edward’s Menagerie

I am back, having a couple of weeks off for a well-earned holiday (street art photos to follow!) and a couple of weeks off to catch up with the work that mounted up whilst I was on leave!

If you have been following my blog for a while you will know that I have been wanting to learn to crochet for a very very long time. Over the summer I treated myself to a Toft kit with the aim of finally cracking this art form. I will share my attempt later in the week!

20161030_sbc_edwards_managerie_03In the mean time I want to talk about Kerry Lord’s book where she brings together a whole range of her patterns. Kerry has based her designs for her animals around a single base for all the bodies, legs/arms and head. It’s what you do with this base which is where the magic starts.

Each pattern using one of a couple of stitches (mainly double crochet, increasing and decreasing stitches) with some more complex stitches being introduced as the book progresses. To make it easier, Kerry categorises her patterns into three levels and if you are a complete beginner you start at the front and work through! There are also full instructions in the back of the book too.

20161030_sbc_edwards_managerie_01If that’s not enough, Kerry has made a lot of videos too where she talks about each of basic steps.

20161030_sbc_edwards_managerie_02Kerry has given each of her characters a back story, don’t think of a quaint stories about hip-hopping bunnies, these are fun, clever and will make you smile (well they made me smile).

I have fallen in love with these animals and I can’t wait to get her bird and monster books too.

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Crochet, Sunday Book Club and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Book Club – Edward’s Menagerie

  1. Kyla says:

    Sorry to have missed you for the NEC but looking forward to seeing your street art photos 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

