Here’s One I’m Made – If you go into the woods today

Much of the early discussion around the Disney Dies from Create and Craft and Tattered Lace washed over me because of a couple of reasons:

  1. Disney Licences don’t come cheap and therefore the dies were always going to reflect the cost of the licence in the first place, so I didn’t get the moaning around the price.
  2. Disney protect their brand rigorously (see point number one) and there was always going to be implications when selling finished items, which make them even less affordable for some. And even though Create and Craft initially said you could, they retracted it very quickly in the face of the questions from those who know Disney’s business practices
  3. I didn’t have a need for vintage Mickey or Frozen dies so was not interested in the first place and knew where I stood on point 1 and 2.

0213-harrison_christening-01However I do think it was handled, at best naively, maybe clumsily, at worse maybe a little dishonestly (even if you haven’t got the answers to the questions being asked – admit it don’t fudge the issue).

So why am I discussing it now? I had to decide what I felt about what had happened once they announced the Winnie the Pooh dies because there were dies I would use and they were more affordable. I decided in the end that as I could afford them and I would use them, they would be a great purchase for me.

0213-harrison_christening-02

My first real chance to use the dies were to celebrate a friend’s little boy’s christening. As part of the kit, I got a couple of the books of pre-printed characters and backgrounds. I decided to use a couple of the sheets of back to for decoupage.

0213-harrison_christening-03The background and the pre-printed images are spot on and very well done. There are enough images to cut around and build the image. The pre-printed images match the dies perfectly.

0213-harrison_christening-06In addition to the pre-printed shapes, I added a string of washi-tape bunting, some diecut balloons also from the Winnie the Pooh set and some presents from Tim Holtz Crazy Things.

0213-harrison_christening-04to add a little more depth to the images, I took a white pen and added highlights to the Winnie and his friends.

0213-harrison_christening-05I am not usually a fan of ready-made kits but I do like the effect of all the pieces coming together in this card and it still gives you enough room to create.

Stash Used

  • UkCraft – Card Blanks
  • Tattered Lace – Winnie the Pooh Background and Pre-printed Colourful Creatures
  • Tattered Lace – Winnie the Pooh Dies
  • Crafters Companions – Neenah Desert Storm Kraft Cardstock
  • Core’dinations – Coloured Cardstock
  • Tim Holtz for Stampers Anonymous – Crazy Things Stamps
  • Tim Holtz for Sizzix – Crazy Things Dies
  • Crafters Companions – Spectrum Noir Alcohol Markers
  • W R Memory Keepers – Washi Tape

Thanks for Reading

BMB

About Wobette

I am a Baker I am a Maker and I live in Bristol Come and Join in the Fun
This entry was posted in Cards and Tags, Here's one I Made..., Stash-Stock-Supplies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here’s One I’m Made – If you go into the woods today

  1. I have bought a couple of the dies, mainly the special edition ones, but I didn’t get the backgrounds, they look great

    Like

Leave a Reply

