Here’s One I’m Making – Dead over Heels in Love

It’s safe to say that Mr BMB is looking forward more to the return of The Walking Dead tomorrow that he was to Valentines Day today. So to celebrate both of these, this year I made a mash-up card.

It is also based on a circle, which is the challenge over at the Allsorts blog this week.

Zom_Val_01I have had this thinlet die from Tim Holtz since the NEC last year… I think Tim is one of those designers who is happiest when designing stuff he wants to use. And anyone who comes up with a Zombie Mask die, is having a lot of fun.

Zom_Val_02This is a very easy set to use, I had cut all the pieces out with two runs of the Big Shot. The instructions are on the inside of the insert, so its easy to see what colour combinations you may want.

Zom_Val_03The die also comes with crease lines so you can see where to line up the elements. There is also a great Black and White version on Tim’s Blog.

Zom_Val_04It took me less than 10 minutes from choosing the cardstock to completing the mask, and I love the final effect. I can see this in very bright colours… Rainbow Zombies.

Zom_Val_05Having completed the mask, I knew I wanted to some how suspend it from a 3D circle so we could focus on the mask. I cut 4x 6 inch circles and then from each of them I cut a 5 and 3 quarter circle, which left me with a thin band.

Zom_Val_06I folded each of the circles together and then began to glue them to each other to create a sphere.

Zom_Val_08Between two of them I inserted a small sliver of plastic which I will use to hang the mask from. I then fixed this to a 2 inch square of chipboard, using lots of glossy accents to hold it into place.

Zom_Val_09Once it was stable, I added the mask, I wanted to make sure it was flat and that it could take the weight.

Zom_Val_10To help keep the frame in shape, I stuck a heart over the top of the fixture and then added lots of hearts as its Valentines Day!

Here is a shot from the top so you can see what it looks like. As you can see, apart from the small piece of plastic, there is nothing else holding it into place than the cardstock itself.

Zom_Val_11Stash Used

  • Tim Holtz for Sizzix – Zombie Mask Thinlet
  • Tattered Lace – Dotted Circle Die
  • Crafters Companion – Heart Dies
  • Core’dinations – Kraft Cardstock
  • Bazzill – Green Cardstock
  • Simon Says Stamp – Pink Cardstock
  • Ranger – Glossy Accents
  • Bazzill – Chipboard Square

Thanks for Reading

BMB

One comment

Leave a comment