Here’s One I’m Making – Shake – Rattle and Birthdays

Do you ever start making a card and then end up with something completely different? I started off this morning with a very definite colour combination for the next family birthday card and ended up on the other end of the scale.

Lots of great inspiration this week:

I had envisaged a card in jewelled blues and reds with bright sequins but I ended up choosing a soft pink and brown with the shaker filled with wooden and corked shapes.

PJD_16_02The beauty of keeping the background colours soft, I could add a little bit of gold and a brighter pink to make the focal elements pop out.

PJD_16_01This week’s sketch suited cutting the card into a shape. I used a 6×6 card and then cut 2 inches off the front so that the side panel from the sketch was stuck on what was the inside of the card.

PJD_16_06This is a great way to add more layers and extra texture to a square card without adding too much extra in thickness, which is ideal if you are posting the card.

PJD_16_03The shaker element has pink pattern paper on the base and is covered with vellum, the overall effect is softer than if I had added plastic on the top. I have filled it with white sequins, wooden and cork elements from various Gossamer Blue kits.

PJD_16_05I have used foil card, pearlised card and pattern paper with glitter embedded in it. The edging on the card is using a technique I picked up from Create and Craft and instead of using ink, I used an alcohol ink marker with a wedge end.

PJD_16_04Stash Used:

  • UK Craft – Card Blank
  • First Edition – Pattern Paper from Daydream collection
  • Craft Companions – Centura Pearl Cardstock
  • Hunkydory – Gold Cardstock
  • Tattered Lace – Parchment Vellum
  • Tattered Lace – Happy Birthday wash line and circle dies
  • Gossamer Blue – Wooden, Cork and white sequins in shaker
  • My Mind Eye – Chipboard Embellishments
  • Promarker – Brown Alcohol Ink Pens

Thanks for Reading

BMB

5 comments

  1. Love the use of vellum in this shaker card! Totally gorgeous and sophisticated! I love how you used the pattern paper, too! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Shake It Up” Challenge!

    Like

  2. I love shaker cards as you can really get inventive with what you put inside them. As to ending up with something different than you planned, yep totally agree…I rarely have an end design planned now as happy accidents and experiments usually end up ok!
    Kyle

    Like

Leave a comment